(1789)Department of State


Pan Am Worldport

The State Department-America’s relationship with the world-another of the original cabinet offices, and so important that the Secretary of State was the second in line in the original Presidential line of succession. Six Presidents were Secretaries of State before they were President-Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Martin Van Buren, and finally, James Buchanan. International stature and a certain distance from a local controversy was a big asset.  Post  Civil War, and the existence of the United States practically guaranteed, and that controversy settled, the United States turned inward a bit, and the Generals and Governors became candidates. The Current Secretary of State? (Antony Blinken-2021)


Carol Duhart’s Politics and Civics


The States and the Constitution

States and the Constitution


Blogger Support Fund